Page 1 of 1
Error message: "Device failed firmware check..."
Posted: 09 May 2008, 18:52 PM
by pjc30943
After downloading the latest IDE for the 1280n dev board, I'm trying to reload older code onto a 1281e.
I get the error
"Device Failed Firmware Check, v2.4.0 or later is required", and the 1281e is identified correctly as 2.3.1.
I tried old backed-up code (that I think has no new commands) that compiled and loaded in the past few months, and get the same error message.
Most likely I'm doing something exceedingly silly... Any thoughts on why this message arises?
Posted: 09 May 2008, 21:09 PM
by mikep
That is an unusual problem. The latest ZVM is indeed 2.3.1 and the compiler should not be requiring a later version. I tried unsuccessfully to recreate this problem.
I would suggest going back and trying a simple hello world program. Here is a good sample to use:
http://www.zbasic.net/forum/about956.html
The generated code is stored in the ZXB file. Can you append the first two lines of this file which indicate the device name and minimum firmware version.
Re: Error message: "Device failed firmware check...&quo
Posted: 10 May 2008, 7:45 AM
by dkinzer
pjc30943 wrote:"Device Failed Firmware Check, v2.4.0 or later is required"
Depending on what ZBasic features are used, the compiler determines the minimum VM version that is required. It is possible that this calculation is being done incorrectly. I'll have to do some research to figure out in what conditions it chooses v2.4.0 as the minimum.
Re: Error message: "Device failed firmware check...&
Posted: 10 May 2008, 10:14 AM
by dkinzer
dkinzer wrote:Depending on what ZBasic features are used, the compiler determines the minimum VM version that is required.
Are you using compiler directives or command line options to set the heap size or something similar? The code below compiled for a VM device will result in a minimum VM version of v2.4.0 will be required. Commenting out 'Option HeapSize' allows it to revert to an earlier VM version.
Code: Select all
Option HeapSize 200
Sub Main()
End Sub
Posted: 10 May 2008, 12:36 PM
by pjc30943
I believe I'm setting the heap size, from which no issues arose before; I'll try commenting it out and see what happens.
Posted: 10 May 2008, 12:45 PM
by dkinzer
pjc30943 wrote:I believe I'm setting the heap size, from which no issues arose before.
Originally, 'Option HeapSize' had no effect other than to change the threshold for the compiler to report when the aggregate size of statically allocated variables grew too large. It had no effect at all at run time.
In the new VM (v2.4.0 and later) the specified heap size is also used to set the heap limit, the threshold beyond which the heap will not grow. The reporting effect in the compiler remains.
Posted: 10 May 2008, 12:54 PM
by mikep
dkinzer wrote:In the new VM (v2.4.0 and later) the specified heap size is also used to set the heap limit, the threshold beyond which the heap will not grow.
Just to be clear, this new version of the VM has not yet been released and I believe is still under development. So for now this Option can be safely commented out as it has no effect on the runtime. At a later time, when version 2.4 or later of the firmware is available, then it will become more meaningful if specified in your application code.
Posted: 10 May 2008, 16:58 PM
by dkinzer
mikep wrote:Just to be clear, this new version of the VM has not yet been released and I believe is still under development.
That is true. I should have explained it more clearly. The new VM version is currently being tested and will likely be ready for release in the first half of June.
Posted: 11 May 2008, 16:05 PM
by pjc30943
That fixed the issue; thanks.