What does this error message mean?

Questions and discussion about the ZBasic IDE.
Post Reply
pjc30943
Posts: 220
Joined: 01 December 2005, 18:45 PM

What does this error message mean?

Post by pjc30943 »

Often, once or twice per compilation (1280n) I recieve an error message in a pop-up dialog, roughly along the lines of:

"Some commands are still waiting to be executed. Continue anyway?

Why does this appear?

It doesn't happen for VM devices, only native mode devices.
Paul
dkinzer
Site Admin
Posts: 3120
Joined: 03 September 2005, 13:53 PM
Location: Portland, OR

Re: What does this error message mean?

Post by dkinzer »

pjc30943 wrote:Why does this appear? It doesn't happen for VM devices, only native mode devices.
The back-end compiler for native mode adds quite a bit of time to the compilation process. With the compile-and-download command (F5), the download has to wait for the compilation to complete before the download can begin. The IDE has a loop that waits for completion but it has a timeout on it just in case something causes the compile to never complete. It's when the completion wait timeout occurs that you get the message box.

If this is the cause of what you're seeing, you can avoid it by first pressing F7 to compile and, when that is complete, pressing F5 to download. Alternately, you can increase the wait time by adding an entry to your User Options file like the one below which specifies a wait time of 20,000mS. The default value is 5,000.

Code: Select all

command.go.wait=20000
You can edit the User Options file in the IDE by selecting "Open User Options file" on the Options menu. In most cases, you need to exit the IDE and restart for the change to take effect.

Note: the current version of the IDE displays a different message than the one that you indicated but I think that the discussion above still applies. The method for increasing the wait time was implemented as far back as v1.3.3. What version of the IDE are you using?
- Don Kinzer
pjc30943
Posts: 220
Joined: 01 December 2005, 18:45 PM

Post by pjc30943 »

Thanks Don.
Yes, you are right, this seems to be the cause (the IDE is the latest version).

I added the entry suggested, resulting in no change. Which is okay, since I'll just use F7 followed by F5, instead of just compile-download-run F5.
F7-F5 works fine, and the message no longer appears.
Paul
twesthoff
Posts: 247
Joined: 17 March 2006, 6:45 AM
Location: Fredericksburg, VA

What does this error message mean?

Post by twesthoff »

FYI,
I am using the newest version, and I still get the error. The newest version sometimes works OK, but the previous version always gave the error.
I also get the error (or a similar one) if I use "Go" and the Com port is already open with another program like Hyperterminal.
With the VM devices I get an error saying the port is not available.
Tom W.


Subject: RE: What does this error message mean?


Note: the current version of the IDE displays a different message than the one that you indicated but I think that the discussion above still applies. The method for increasing the wait time was implemented as far back as v1.3.3. What version of the IDE are you using?

------------------------
- Don Kinzer
pjc30943
Posts: 220
Joined: 01 December 2005, 18:45 PM

Post by pjc30943 »

After installing the latest compiler, the timeout occured again; entering 'command.go.wait = 20000' back into all the options files has made no difference.

Any ideas why?
Paul
dkinzer
Site Admin
Posts: 3120
Joined: 03 September 2005, 13:53 PM
Location: Portland, OR

Post by dkinzer »

pjc30943 wrote:entering 'command.go.wait = 20000' back into all the options files has made no difference.
You should only need to put it in your User Options file (accessed via "Open User Options File" on the Options menu). The installer never modifies your user options file so your changes will carry over from one version to the next.
pjc30943 wrote:Any ideas why?
It is possible that the compiler is just enough slower (with the addition of native mode stack analysis) that it takes longer than the specified wait time. However, 20 seconds seems quite long. If you compile separately using F7, approximately how long does it take?
- Don Kinzer
pjc30943
Posts: 220
Joined: 01 December 2005, 18:45 PM

Post by pjc30943 »

EDIT: Just verifying that it is in the User Options file, and the timeout occurs.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Compiling takes about 7 seconds, which is about the same as before.

Previously I found that just placing the command in the User Options file did not work, but placing it into Global Options did. It was then working for quite some time until this release, after which I was immediately given this error.

I should first check and verify that there is nothing else that has been changed. Regardless, the command is currently in the User Options file, and the timeout occurs.
Paul
pjc30943
Posts: 220
Joined: 01 December 2005, 18:45 PM

Post by pjc30943 »

Anyone have further thoughts on how to remove the timeout message?
Paul
dkinzer
Site Admin
Posts: 3120
Joined: 03 September 2005, 13:53 PM
Location: Portland, OR

Post by dkinzer »

pjc30943 wrote:Anyone have further thoughts on how to remove the timeout message?
I don't know yet why it occurs in your case. Is it true that if you separately compile and then download (i.e. F7, wait for completion, F5) operates as you would expect?
- Don Kinzer
pjc30943
Posts: 220
Joined: 01 December 2005, 18:45 PM

Post by pjc30943 »

dkinzer wrote:Is it true that if you separately compile and then download (i.e. F7, wait for completion, F5) operates as you would expect?
Yes. Then it works correctly.
Of course it's pretty simple to just continue to do F7-F5 separately, so no loss either way.
Paul
pjc30943
Posts: 220
Joined: 01 December 2005, 18:45 PM

Post by pjc30943 »

Still occurs with 2.8.
Anyone else had this problem, and then figured out the solution?

It's not a big problem...just a nuisance. I keep hoping that with new releases it will magically go away!
Paul
dkinzer
Site Admin
Posts: 3120
Joined: 03 September 2005, 13:53 PM
Location: Portland, OR

Post by dkinzer »

pjc30943 wrote:Still occurs with 2.8. Anyone else had this problem, and then figured out the solution?
The current version of the IDE is 1.4.14. You can determine the version of the IDE that you're using by selecting 'About ZBasic IDE' from the Help menu in the IDE.

I'd like to see your User Options file. You can find it at "Documents and Settings/<user name>/SciTEUser.properties" where <user name> is your user name. If you would, send it to me as an attachment using the email address dkinzer at zbasic dot net.

What OS are you using, by the way?
- Don Kinzer
pjc30943
Posts: 220
Joined: 01 December 2005, 18:45 PM

Post by pjc30943 »

Woops: the 2.8 was the ZBasic installer version. The IDE is 1.4.14.

Thanks--the User Options file has been sent via email.


EDIT: The OS is Win XP Pro
Paul
Post Reply