IDE Output Window

Questions and discussion about the ZBasic IDE.
Post Reply
liam.zbasic
Posts: 163
Joined: 24 March 2008, 23:33 PM
Location: Southern California (Blue)

IDE Output Window

Post by liam.zbasic »

Hello. I want to increase the number of lines in the IDE output window to see more of my ZX-40A data. The default seems to be ~105 lines. Also, is it possible to increase the output rate beyond the debug.print command? Thanks.
dkinzer
Site Admin
Posts: 3120
Joined: 03 September 2005, 13:53 PM
Location: Portland, OR

Re: IDE Output Window

Post by dkinzer »

liam.zbasic wrote:I want to increase the number of lines in the IDE output window to see more of my ZX-40A data.
There is section of the ZBasic Language Reference Manual that describes exactly how to do that.
http://www.zbasic.net/doc/ZBasicRef.php?page=116
liam.zbasic wrote:Also, is it possible to increase the output rate beyond the debug.print command?
The default baud rate for Com1 is 19.2K baud and the IDE is set to match that by default. You can change the baud rate of Com1 by closing Com1 and opening it again with the parameters that you want to use. You'll also have to manually set the baud rate in the IDE to match whatever rate you choose.

You need to be aware, however, that the "sign on" message is sent to the output queue before Main() begins executing. Consequently, if you change the baud rate of Com1 and have the IDE set to match, the sign on message will display as garbled characters because they will have been output at the default rate. You can avoid this by using "Option SignOn Off" in the first module of your project. You can read more about that, and the applicable caveats, in the ZBasic Language Reference Manual:
http://www.zbasic.net/doc/ZBasicRef.php?page=20
- Don Kinzer
liam.zbasic
Posts: 163
Joined: 24 March 2008, 23:33 PM
Location: Southern California (Blue)

Post by liam.zbasic »

Thank you.
Post Reply